Skip links

Preysal Government Crowned Atlantic Cricket Champions



Preysal Government defeated Guayaguayare RC by seven wickets to claim the boys cricket crown in the finals for the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League at the Queen’s Park Oval on Friday night (June 17).

Both teams were welcomed onto the field by Minister of Sport Darryl Smith. The Guayaguayare boys batted first and were bowled out for 92 runs with dependable team-mates Mickel Grant and Dernaka Hyndman each getting nine runs. Extras turned out to be the top-score with 32. Bowling for Preysal Government, David Kissoondath who would later go on to be the star of the match grabbed three wickets for six runs, while Kyle Kissoondath nabbed two for six and Jeremy Lutchmansingh 2/14.

At Preysal’s turn to bat, the two Kissoondaths helped pave the way for a quick win at 93 for three. David Kissoondath struck 18, while Kyle Kissoondath supported with an unbeaten 13. The Preysal boys were unstoppable and with loud cheers at their win, down came the curtains on another successful season of the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League.

Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League – Boys Finals


Guayaguayare RC 92 all out (Extras 32, Dernaka Hynman 9, Mikel Grant 9, David Kissoondath 3/16, Kyle Kissoondath 2/6, Jeremy Lutchmansingh 2/14) vs Preysal Government 93/3 (David Kissoondath 18, Kyle Kissoondath 13 not out) – Preysal Government won by 7 wkts.