Skip links

Atlantic History

Atlantic has a proven track record of safe liftings and safe, reliable operations. With over four thousand cargoes lifted, LNG continues to add significant value to the national economy and the development of Trinidad and Tobago.

Quick Facts

Atlantic LNG Company of Trinidad and Tobago was formed on July 20, 1995. Construction of Train 1 began in July 1996, with Bechtel winning the Engineering, Procurement and Construction (EPC) contract to build the plant at Point Fortin, using the Phillips Optimised Cascade process.

First LNG was produced on April 11, 1999 from Train 1 which would supply 3 million tonnes of LNG per annum (tap) and 6000 barrels per day (bpd) of Natural Gas Liquids (NGLs).

Atlantic made Trinidad and Tobago the 10th LNG producing country in the world at that time, and in so doing helped the twin-island nation achieve several firsts including:

  • Largest LNG facility in the world at the time
  • Atlantic held the record for the fastest LNG project establishment, needing only six and a half years for the facility to be established, from concept to completion
  • First LNG plant ever built in the Caribbean and South America, and only the second in the Western Hemisphere

On March 13, 2000, the Government and Atlantic signed an agreement for a two Train expansion. Operations commenced with First LNG from Train 2 in August 2002 and from Train 3 in April 2003.

Train 4 was completed in December 2005, making it the largest LNG train in the world at that time, with double the capacity output of Train 1, producing 5.2 mtpa of LNG and 12,000 bpd of NGLs. First LNG from Train 4 commenced in May 2007.

The full capacity of the Atlantic facility stands at 15 mtpa of LNG. The facility comprises 28 GE Frame 5 turbine compressors, making it the largest fleet in the world.

Our facility includes a port area with two (2) 700-metre jetties, an approach channel used by LNG carriers to berth at the jetty, and a turning basin. Each jetty can accommodate an LNG carrier of approximately 171,000 cubic metres in size.

Each Train is owned by a holding company comprised of different Member companies. Our current member companies are BP, Shell, NGC and CIC.