Skip links

Montrose Government new Champions in Atlantic Primary School Cricket


Young Justin Jaggessar turned eyes at the Queen’s Park Oval on June 14, when he played a blinder to give his school Montrose Government the 2017 Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League title.

The right hander stole the show in a one-sided finals against Preysal Government and at the end of the night, his schoolmates were all jumping and celebrating. Preysal batted first and scored 128 for five of their 25 overs and this represented a fight score at the Mecca of local cricket. Leon Lalchan was the best of the batsmen with a controlled 23.

When Montrose took to the crease, Jaggessar used the big stage to showcase his talent and at the end of the innings, he would have left an impression on the minds of all who saw him. Montrose romped to victory at 131 without loss in just 14.3 overs, as Jaggessar slammed an unbeaten 75 and his opening partner Darren Goberdhan counted 48 not out. Such was the extent of Jaggessar’s domination, he struck seven sixes and five fours all told.

President of the Primary Schools cricket league Brent Francis said after the finals that he was very pleased with the way the season went :”I think it was the most keenly contested finals across the board. Despite Preysal losing by 10 wickets, they had less than 10 extras which is phenomenal in under-13 cricket. All in all we had another good season and I think Atlantic would have yet again provided Trinidad and Tobago’s young cricketers with a platform to showcase their talent and set their careers into gear.”

Earlier, Tunapuna Presbyterian took the inaugural U-11 title, when the easily defeated San Francique Hindu School by ten wickets. Preceding the boys finals was the girls championship game and Amanda Farrow with a fine all round performance gave Bonne Aventure the title by a solitary run.


At the Oval: Preysal Gov’t 128/5 (25ovs)(Leon Lalchan 23) vs Montrose Gov’t 131/0 (14.3ovs) (Justin Jaggessar 75 not out, Darren Goberdhan 48 not out) – Montrose Gov’t won by 10 wkts.

Boys U-11 Finals

At the Oval: San Francique Hindu 62/8 (10ovs) vs Tunapuna Presbyterian 65/0 (5.5ovs) (Jonah Mohammed 40 not out) – Tunapuna Presbyterian won by 10 wickets.

Girls Finals

At the Oval:

Bonne Aventure 79/6 (Manda Farrow 27) vs Cunaripo Presbyterian 78/8 (Manda Farrow 2/6) – Bonne Aventure won by 1 run.