Skip links

Preysal Government crowned Atlantic Boys Champs



Preysal Government are the 2018 Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League Inter-School Boy champions after a convincing win in the finals over Montrose Government at the Brian Lara Academy in Tarouba on Thursday night (June 14).

It was an exciting repeat of last year’s final in the Inter-School Boys Competition, but with a very different outcome. The fans came out to support primary schools cricket, the night before the Eid Holiday and got a glimpse into the future of T&T’s cricket.

Preysal Government had first use of the strip for batting and they compiled a fighting 131/6 off their allotted 25 overs. Leading the run scoring for the Preysal boys was Marcus Persad who came in at the critical number three position to guide the innings. When the umpires called their innings, at the 25th over, he was unbeaten on 26, having struck three fours. He got support from N Fletcher who scored 20, Aneal Rooplal who made 19 and AK Rooplal who scored 12.

Montrose given the way they have batted this season, would have fancied winning the match by chasing down that victory target but it was not to be. They lost wickets at regular intervals and despite a stubborn 16 from K. Thomas and 13 from A. Nabee, they fell short at 106/9.

Aneal Rooplal who batted well earlier, turned bowler and returned figures of 2/15 from his five overs that gave his team the win and the championship. He was adjudged best bowler, while Persad for his 26 not out, copped the best batsman’s award.



Preysal Gov’t 131/6 (25) (Marcus Persad 26no, N Fletcher 20, A Rooplal 19, AK Rooplal 12) vs Montrose Gov’t 110/7 (A Nabee 13, K Thomas 16, Aneal Rooplal 2/15) – Preysal won by 21 runs.