Skip links

Hosein and Sween crowned Champion Athletes in Atlantic YES Awards


Standard 3 cricketer Samantha Hosein and Standard 4 footballer Lindell Sween were named the Female and Male Champion Athletes of the Year respectively, at the Atlantic Youth Excellence in Sport (YES) Awards ceremony held today (March 13) at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre.

A stand-out on last year’s cricket team for San Francique Presbyterian, Samantha Hosein impressed the YES Awards judges with her skill with both bat and ball.  In the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League, Hosein was “not out” in five of eight games in which she batted and in the finals she was named Most Outstanding Bowler.

Lindell Sween, Standard Four footballer at La Pastora Government, scored several of the goals that helped secure his school’s spot in the 2018 Atlantic National Primary Schools Football League. The skillful left-footed baller scored twelve goals in the St George East Competition, landing La Pastora in the national tournament. A further eight goals by Sween ushered his school into the finals and positioned them for their eventual win.

Excited about her win, Hosein said, “It feels good to be rewarded for hard work. I love cricket and playing with my school and I am looking forward to this year’s season.

Sween said that his Champion Athlete trophy would help inspire his school to new victories in the years ahead. “I am happy to be celebrating with my team and the rest of my school,” the footballer added.

La Pastora Government’s football team walked away with two other YES Awards: Team of the Year and Team Demonstrating Fair Play. In 2017, the school was the Under-12 Champion in primary school football, but charted new territory in 2018 by winning the Under-15 Boys title. For the entire 2018 season, the La Pastora Government team – fondly dubbed the ‘young Lions of Santa Cruz’ – gained further distinction for being shown no card by referees.

Camille Salandy, Atlantic’s Manager – Sustainability and Corporate Communications said that La Pastora Government’s success in two different divisions in two consecutive years demonstrated the value of sports partnerships at the primary school level. “Atlantic working together with the Ministry of Education, the teachers, the coaches, the parents and the sporting leagues – we are all involved in preparing future generations of athletes, and we hope, outstanding citizens of Trinidad and Tobago” Salandy said.

Atlantic Sports Ambassador Merissa Aguilleira delivered a motivational speech based on her cricketing experiences and encouraged the young athletes to keep striving for success.

Other well-deserved awards presented at the ceremony were Administrator of the year which went to Joy Gabriel-Neptune, treasurer of National Primary Schools Track & Field Association (NPSTFA), while track and field coach Kurt Cruickshank earned the title of Coach of the Year. The winners were congratulated by presenters including Olympians and Atlantic Sports Ambassadors Keshorn Walcott, Jereem Richards and Khalifa St. Fort.